While Witnessing With Easter Eggs Today…

April 15, 2017

Friends,
Wednesday my mom and I went downtown and passed out the 200 or so Easter treat bags we’d made with decorated wood crosses, candy, trinkets, and tracts. We’d also filled plastic eggs, but since we hadn’t gotten those passed out that day, my husband offered to go down with me today. I was surprised as he’s only gone once or twice with me down there, and it was years ago. But I was happy he wanted to and after finding a basket in the garage to put the eggs in (plus in a bag because there were many), off we went.

The first guy we met and talked to was very happy to testify to what the Lord had been doing in his life lately –that he had been off drugs for five months and how the Lord was blessing him. Several others approached us, asking for an egg and smiling and thanking us. It had begun positive.

But then when we were going to cross the street one way, a group of black guys on microphones waved us to come over to them. I wasn’t sure if it was a good idea, but we took up their invitation. Right away I realized I wished we’d not gotten snagged by them as they were asking trick questions and going on about the origins of Easter. When I saw a 666 on the forehead of a picture of Jesus, I told them that was wrong. They kept saying something about Jesus not being a white man. I just really wanted to leave, but they kept saying to my husband, loudly for all to hear via their microphone, “So you’re going to let your woman tell you what to do?!” We were trying to tell them that it doesn’t matter what color skin Jesus has, but instead that we live out the Truth by loving God and others. They wouldn’t let us get a word in edgewise, of course, and when we did walk away, they turned up their microphones, yelling away at us. They were truly racist and sexist.

When we went through the station we met a lot of grateful, cheerful people and it was enjoyable talking with many about the Lord. But there was still another black group over there and they kept yelling things at us as well. My husband mentioned that it was really a wild place down there and I said it is not normally like that.

When we went around the station and then up a few blocks, and were talking to one man, two beautiful black girls came across the street and hung out near us until the man left. Then they talked to us and said that they had seen us and wanted to talk to us too and that they had become born again just yesterday through an evangelist woman down there. We were excited about that! And they were from the city and state where I’d gone to college and had just come here this week to be in some video.

After we got home and I had texted my prayer partners to thank them for praying and to relay things that had happened, several of them said some really encouraging things about not being disturbed when we get persecuted, for Jesus has said that we are blessed and will be rewarded. This is true and it helps to hear it after a somewhat troubling experience.

In spite of the negative parts, my husband said that he really enjoyed walking around passing out eggs with me and watching me witness. I enjoyed it too and was really touched that he had wanted to join me. Here are some photos he took of me down there today:

May the Lord bring many to Himself through each and every effort His servants make.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

