Explain Isaiah 65:17-25

April 12, 2017

[Sent 3/24/17 to the same “preacher” I was addressing in my last two posts.]
________
I did not miss what you sent. I’ve carefully read everything you’ve sent to me. This time I underlined and made black Isaiah 65:17 and 20 that you sent me below. I’m not sure why you won’t answer my specific question about why there is still death (dying at a hundred will be considered an early death) even after the new heavens and the new earth are created. I would really like to know the answer.

I don’t think I’m to understand that you are saying that we Christ-followers are now living in the new heavens and the new earth, right? I don’t think you’re saying that, for certainly you must believe along with me that creation itself is still groaning and waiting for us and it to be (fully, including physically) redeemed (Rom. 8:19-24) “until the time comes for God to restore everything, as He promised long ago through His holy prophets.” (Acts 3:21) –For “He must remain in Heaven until the time comes…” (same verse) and then come back (v. 20,21) “in the same way you have seen Him go into heaven.” (1:11) –Visibly. (v. 9 // Zech. 14:4-9)

Here is my question again and I italicized and made bold what I am emphasizing in my question:

I wonder, do you allegorize all of Isaiah 65:17-25 or just parts of it? For there God says, “‘Behold, I will create new heavens and a new earth… I will create Jerusalem to be a delight and its people a joy. I will rejoice over Jerusalem and take delight in My people; the sound of weeping and of crying will be heard in it no more… he who dies at a hundred will be thought a mere youth; he who fails to reach a hundred will be considered accursed… They will not toil in vain or bear children doomed to misfortune… The wolf and the lamb will feed together, and the lion will eat straw like the ox… They will neither harm nor destroy in all My holy mountain,’ says the LORD.”

You yourself, in your 3/15, 4:03 p.m. email, quoted Rev. 21:4 and said that there will be no more death in the new heavens and the new earth, meaning you do not allegorize this promise found in God’s Word. So… the rest of my question:

While considering verse 17 of Isaiah ch. 65, and that there is no marriage or death for those considered worthy of taking part in the age following the resurrection of the dead (which is what Jesus teaches in Luke 20:34-38), then why in this Isaiah passage is there death (after prolonged life) and the bearing of children during the age of the new heavens and the new earth?

Thank you for your time,
Rachel

