Is The 1,000 Year Reign “A Fictitious Idea”?

March 28, 2017

Friends,
Over this last month I’ve been corresponding with someone who, although he teaches the importance of obedience to Christ, made the Israel / Millennium issue a point of division. On March 10 I posted an email I’d written to him that day, he wrote back the next day, and now here is the first half of my response to him on March 12:

_____,
I appreciate you asking me to forgive you if you misjudged me and showed a carelessness concerning Christlike love. I don’t believe it was “if”, but of course I forgive you and I hope you mean you have turned from doing that. Remember, I emailed Mike to encourage him and thank him; not to ask him to evaluate my beliefs, and certainly not to quarrel. In deep sincerity I want his core message –surrounding the necessity of obedience to Christ– to spread. Truly he is skilled in explaining things clearly.

I do agree with the foundation of what Mike teaches. I definitely do not believe in original sin and when I begun writing messages in 1994 (my short tracts for my evangelizing) I contemplated for quite some time about what term to use in passages that speak of the flesh’s sinful desires. To use the word “flesh”, however, creates another problem (with people thinking our body itself has a sin-disease) where people then tend to (wrongly) accept that the spirit is pure while the body can keep sinning. I think both terms lack clarity for people, but “sinful nature” is what is easier to say when I quote the verses while evangelizing (or while writing posts). I do emphasize that one’s sinful nature comes about through a continued choice to sin and that if we have been born anew, we have crucified it and it is gone.

I am open to being corrected, as we all should be, but I cannot accept a correction regarding something about which God’s Word clearly teaches the opposite, and about which the Spirit of Truth has already instructed me extensively. The Lord allowed me to be pushed into searching the Truth regarding Israel and Christ’s in-the-body rule on earth because of the friend who kept antagonizing me about it. I told her it was not a subject I had studied much and that my emphasis of teaching was on obedience, but she persisted and considered it a dividing matter. So, I told her I would study it (again and thoroughly), which I did under the tutelage of the Spirit and the Word, and I came to the very opposite conclusion that she had. So, being that Christ-followers should not have to keep on learning over and over what we’ve already been taught by the Lord, “never able to arrive at the knowledge of the Truth” (2 Tim. 3:7), I trust you understand that I must believe God’s Word and Instruction over your views and words.

Consequently, when I read God’s words, “I will plant Israel in their own land, never again to be uprooted from the land I have given them,” (Amos 9:15), I believe Him. I’m not going to believe those who say that God meant, “I will plant the church in their own land, never again to be uprooted from the land I have given them.” Since God brought Jacob’s descendants back to the land several times, but then did uproot them for almost 2,000 years, I believe God when He says there is coming a time when they won’t be uprooted ever again.

As to the 1,000 years, I believe God’s Word again when Rev. 20:1-7 mentions the 1,000 years six times. That the 1,000 year reign would be recorded six times within seven verses is certainly an emphasis to its coming reality and should not be viewed as “just a fictitious idea”, as you call it. I caution you to remember Jesus’ warning “that men will have to give account on the Day of Judgment for every careless word they have spoken.” (Mt. 12:36)

After the 1,000 year reign there will be another battle against the people and city God loves (Rev. 20:7-10), the devil will be thrown into the lake of burning sulphur (v. 10), earth and sky will flee from God’s presence (v. 11b) in great fiery destruction (2 Pe. 3:5-12), and the Great White Throne Judgement will take place. (Rev. 20:11-15) Then God will restore all things by making a new heaven and a new earth. (21:1 // Isa. 66:22 // Rom. 8:19-24 // 2 Pe. 3:13)

Indeed, “the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom…” (Rom. 8:21); for Jesus “must remain in Heaven until the time comes for God to restore everything, as He promised long ago through His holy prophets.” (Acts 3:21) Yet you, _____, are trying to persuade me to disbelieve the holy prophets who spoke God’s promises in His name. Yes, I know that Christ-followers are participants of the spiritual Kingdom of God now, but that does not negate God’s promises to Israel or His promises to rule in person (Rev. 22:4) over all the nations. (21:22-26 // Isa. 9:6,7 // Zech. 14:16-21)

~~~~~~~~

Friends, I encourage all of us to know well what God’s Word says –what the Lord commands as well as what He promises. For many false teachers are in the world and most of them, in being adamant that they are correct and that everyone needs to adhere to their interpretations, mock those of us who take the Word of God at face value. Truly, it is God’s words that we are to believe, not men’s words that contradict it.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

