Surprise Bible-reading Partner At A Street Corner

January 22, 2017

Friends,
This last Thursday afternoon, I handed out, at the bus and train stops downtown, the rest of the stack of pocket calendars two different people had given my mom and me. (My mom is putting some in with the Valentine treat bags we’re working on.) So, with the calendars, my tracts, and my signs, mixed with the prayers of several of my praying partners, it turned out to be an extra wonderful time of witnessing.

During my third hour there I noticed a homeless-looking guy standing a ways from me, reading aloud some writing in the cement. After watching him for a few minutes and wondering if he was too nutty to approach, I remembered Christ considered everyone worth the try, so I moved closer to him and asked him if he wanted a calendar. He took one and then he did talk with me about the Lord (though I had a lot of trouble understanding his speech). At one point, I asked him if he had asked Jesus to forgive him of his sins and save him. He responded by hanging his head and saying, “I’ve told Him I’m very sorry for all the bad things I’ve done.” When I offered him a good-size New Testament, he grabbed it eagerly and immediately began reading it, and quite loudly. He read Matthew chapters 5-7, then First Peter, and then he began in Revelation. I kept “Amen-ing” his reading and sometimes when he’d pause, I’d say, “You have such a great reading and preaching voice!”

It truly was a big blessing to me as we stood together, and I relished the time with him, thinking, “This is really great. What a way to shine the Light on this corner as people see me with my signs and holding up my Bible, and see and hear this guy reading the Word of God loud and clear. One guy in a wheelchair seemed to appreciate it as he wheeled himself up to us, took out his pocket Bible, sat there listening, and then wanted me to show him all my signs and explain them. My reading friend just kept right on reading –nice and loud. I thought it was fantastic.

Earlier, on another corner, a guy I recognized from last year came up real joyful and happy and said that my prayer a year ago had really helped him and delivered him from the demons that had been harassing him. He told me that when he had walked to another bus stop that hour, a woman had said, “I see the anointing on you,” and he had told her, “Well, a lady just prayed for me!” I, of course, was very happy and encouraged to hear this testimony and to watch him bubbling with joy as we talked more about the Lord and the victory we have as we walk in His Spirit while applying the Word.

There were other precious affirmations besides these last Thursday. Another was a woman who I had seen a couple of months ago, and this time again she came up very glad to see me, to tell me what is going on in her life, and to talk about the Lord. Her faith and determination in the face of persecution was inspirational.

There was also a young man who, though he seemed to be slightly handicapped mentally and who was with those who appeared to be his parents, was also noticeably excited to tell me that he loves Jesus and lives his life by Gal. 2:20, which we then proceeded to quote together.

Of course not all of my conversations were this positive. Like one of the first guys I talked to –shaking his dreadlocks, he repeated over and over, emphatically, that he had lost his faith because he could no longer believe that God exists. This, he said, is what must be the case being that there is so much evil and suffering in the world. I tried to encourage him and exhort him and explain how DNA proves there is a Creator, and I also reminded him that this life is a testing ground where God looks for truly committed hearts. I spent considerable time with this 36 year old man and, though he did seem to keep wanting to listen and have me try to convince him, he also seemed bent on sticking to his complaints and doubts.

Well, there were a lot more encounters, but suffice it to say, it was another wonderful time evangelizing for the Lord and for the furtherance of His Kingdom. I pray the privilege never ends.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

