His Majesty & Care God Proclaims To Us

August 14, 2016

Friends,
My habit is to sit in our backyard flower-garden in the early mornings with the Lord, and this morning was especially lovely because it stayed cool for quite a long time. While praying and reciting my verses, several were particularly worship-inspiring. One is Job 40:10, which, although God is speaking, I say it to Him like this: “You, Lord, have adorned Yourself with glory and splendor, and clothed Yourself in honor and majesty.” Looking up at the big, billowing clouds, I meditated on how awesome God is. I reflected on how powerful He is while also being so caring, so compassionate, and such a perfect friend.

The Lord speaking again, here is another verse I was mediating on this morning, one I’ve personalized for myself and my family: “Listen to Me, you whom I have upheld since you were conceived, and have carried since your birth. Even to your old age and gray hairs I am He, I am He who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.” (Isa. 46:3,4) I LOVE that verse! It is special to me because it reminds me that the Lord has watched over me and my family all our lives, even from the conception of each one of us. It assures me that He will continue to do these even until we are old and gray. It gives me confidence that our Maker is carrying us –as we travel over roads, both literal and figurative– and that He is Himself our Comfort and Support and Protection.

I definitely recognize that these verses which I’ve written above are words spoken by God to people other than me. The first, we see from verse 6, is the Lord speaking to Job. Even so, because “the Word of God is living and active” (Heb. 4:12), God speaks to anyone else He wishes to speak to via His Spirit in the Word. This is why certain verses seem to “jump out at us” at various times.

The two Isaiah verses above are the Lord’s words to Jacob / Israel. Verse 3 actually begins with God saying, “Listen to Me, O house of Jacob, all you who remain of the house of Israel, you whom I have upheld…” So, even though I personalize verses, and expect others to do the same, this does not mean anyone can take God’s words away from the initial hearer/s. Again, no one can take God’s warnings, rebukes, and promises –to whomever He made them to– and completely transfer them to another person or group of people. To do so is to commit the gross sin of those who adhere to Replacement Theology, of those who, regarding multitudes of verses, think that they can nullify, through their teaching, what God said to the initial hearer/s. No, we are invited to share in God’s Word, not claim that the initial recipients should now disbelieve what God promised them!

There were many other Scripture verses I meditated on this morning, and I was filled with reverent worship to the One who wrote those words, to the One who, being omniscient, omnipotent, and omnipresent, has not only created this amazing universe and is sustaining it by the power of His word (Heb. 1:3), but has also been shepherding His loved ones throughout their lives.

There are truly so many promises from our Lord about His care for us! “Look at the birds of the air,” Jesus tells us in Mt. 6:26. They are well-cared for by Him who is our Heavenly Father (same verse), so, Jesus continues, if we are seeking God’s Kingdom and righteousness, we need not doubt that He will care for us! (v. 25-34)

I saw a bird yesterday that reminded me of this. We were having a nice, steady, wonderful rain –something we’ve needed– and in looking out the window, I saw a dove sitting on our fence. She (or he) was so cute! She was thoroughly enjoying the soft rain and she kept lifting up one wing and then the other, holding it that way for several seconds, and doing this at least ten times with each wing. She was taking a shower and cooling her armpits (wing-pits)! I was trying not to laugh, but I kept smiling and thanking the Lord for such wonderful and hilarious things He shows us, if we but take the time to notice. Simple things, some people would call it, but even the “simple” things God brings, I call incredible. I prayed for that dove and for her whole family. Why not? The Lord cares for birds, and He cares for us!

“Yes, Lord, You have adorned Yourself with glory and splendor, and clothed Yourself in honor and majesty.” You are a beautiful, personable God, full of light and power and love! Your whole creation proclaims it!

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

