That Awful But Beautiful Cross

April 3, 2015

Friends,
At this time of year it is right that we take time out of our schedules to remember Christ’s death on the cross and to thank Him, with utmost gratefulness, for paying for our sins. And though we know that Jesus was actually crucified on Thursday, dying the same day (see http://gracethrufaith.com/topical-studies/holidays-and-holy-days/solving-the-three-day-three-night-mystery/ ), we should be glad that much of the world does, at least in one way or another, acknowledge, or even honor, the sacrifice the Lord made for mankind.

I, for one, am glad that the cross is a focus in many people’s artwork and decor. (See the two photos below.) In fact, almost every time I see a cross, I stop to admire it, for I am intrigued by how many different designs, shapes, and types can be made. However, I’m certain my interest in crosses could not merely be that there are so many different styles, but that they are so often displayed, which, I believe, reveals the spiritualness of what it symbolizes. What it symbolizes (the believer’s forgiveness, freedom from sin and its penalty, and union with Christ) is what draws me and fills my heart with awe and love and gratitude to God.

Without Christ’s death, without His blood having been shed, there would have been no pardon for us, no redemption, no way for sinful humans to approach the Holy Most High God, and no eternal life. But Jesus –God who entered the world as a man– and who remained sinless, did die. He did shed His blood, and the punishment for sin that He took, did turn God’s wrath aside for all who believe and repent.

Because of His perfect justice, God does have to punish moral lawbreakers. But because of His love and mercy, He wants to forgive. So He made a way: He Himself came to earth to live and die and rise –to forgive and free mankind.

It is the Message of the cross. The very Good News.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

My cross necklaces on one of my Bibles, on an old log. (Taken 8/21/13)

One of my husband’s favorite purchases that we have hanging in our hallway.

