My Mom’s Tribute To Her Dad

March 28, 2015

Friends,
Below is a tribute with photos that my mom wrote and sent out to her friends and relatives eleven days ago. It is about my grandpa who was born 104 years ago today.
Love,
Rachel

My Daddy is Home with Jesus

On February 23, 2015, my father went to be with his Heavenly Father. It was just 33 days short of his 104th birthday. My mom preceded him long ago at age 53 in 1969. He leaves behind his second wife Gloria who he had married the year after my mom’s death. He also leaves behind his 97 direct descendants—his 4 children, 16 grandchildren, 42 great-grandchildren, and 33 great- great-grandchildren, all of whom are still living today, by the grace of God.

I was able to fly up to Duluth Minnesota to visit him at his bedside for four days in February 18-21 where he had been diagnosed with pneumonia. When I arrived I saw the strongest man I have ever known (both in body and spirit), now weak and seemingly asleep. When I got there I leaned over the bed and said, “Daddy, this is Janet. I just arrived from Dallas. I love you!” He opened his eyes a little, and took my face in his hands and kissed me and said, “I love you too. I am so glad you have come!” Those are precious words to me because over the next three days he didn’t talk much .

The hospital room was full with so many relatives that they couldn’t all be in the room at the same time. I was staying with my wonderful cousin Sharon and she took me to visit daddy each day. She also provided a record player which played hymns softly each day. On the fourth and last day I was there, there were only three of us in the room that morning and I was able to read John 14:1-6 to my dad and pray for him. My brother told me, before I arrived, how the hospital janitor came in one day and asked my dad if he was afraid. Daddy answered, “No I’m not! I’m going to heaven!” The janitor then prayed with him.

My dad had loved the Lord and served him at church as head deacon for over 30 years. He was strong-minded and sometimes some on the board would argue a point with him, but they usually came to agree with his posi- tion. I also learned at a young age that he usually was right. I admired this in him.

Daddy worked at the Duluth Steel Plant for 47 years and never missed a day for sickness or a blizzard; nor was he ever once late to work. He was president of the St. Louis County Fair and told the board he would be president only if they would promise not to sell liquor on the grounds and make sure that no ‘girlie shows’ were allowed on the premises. At first they argued with him but decided he was right. He held that office for 7 years.

Daddy loved fun and traveled a lot, still driving his van in his late 90s. He loved to laugh.

I will miss being able to sit in his living room when Tom and I visited him. We often listened to some of the 50+ Christian records on the old phonograph with him and Gloria, as daddy would sing along. Some say that he didn’t have a good singing voice, but it was music to me.

I was only able to spend those four days with him, and then he entered glory on the 23rd of February. I feel a deep peace as I look back on his life.

May God’s love be with you all,
Janet
3/17/15

1. Daddy / Wallace Wolff (1911-2015) at age 90 in robust health in 2001

2. Daddy in 2003

3. Eva & Wally in 1940 at ages 25 and 29

4. My mom Eva, my dad, me at age 15, and younger brother Duane, in 1949

5. My dad & mom (Eva) dressed for town centennial 1949

6. Daddy and second wife Gloria, married in 1970 for 45 years.

7. Daddy when he and Gloria visited us in the Philippines in 1970 (for their honeymoon), in front of our bamboo house with two Agta men

8. Daddy in 2013 at age 102

9. Daddy getting kiss from wife Gloria, 2014

