Walking Delivered Happens By Applying God’s Word

November 21, 2014

Friends,
Yesterday while witnessing at the bus stops, my signs and tracts proclaimed that by meditating on Jesus, who is the Word of God, and by applying His words, we are delivered from the dark realm. People are eager and grateful to hear this message of hope, for it is The Truth and The Good News.

One young man who I’d talked with some months ago, asked me to pray for him to get delivered. I told him that I would pray for him, and I did, but I first told him that it is by our own choice to truly believe and apply the message (the one I was proclaiming) that we step out of bondage, are delivered, and walk in freedom from addictions and other sins. He looked so hopefully at me and listened so thoughtfully. I reminded him of the weapons we have as we walk the path of freedom –those of praise to God (which demons hate and flee from), of quoting the Scriptures (which Jesus Himself did against Satan when tempted in the desert), of taking our thoughts captive to obey Christ (2 Cor. 10:5), of petitioning prayer, of staying far away from places and people who cause temptations, and of nourishing our spirits with the powerful Word of God which, in soaking into our spirit (and mind and heart) –convicting us and motivating us to repent– purifies us (Eph. 5:26), thus making us spiritually wise, clean, and strong.

“So,” I said. “As Gal. 5:16 says, ‘If we walk in the Spirit, we will not fulfill the desires of the sinful nature.’ It’s the sinful nature people are indulging in which is causing most of the wretchedness in the world, is it not? But if we walk in the Spirit, we are abiding in freedom. It begins with each one of us. So let it begin with you and with me. We can be skilled Olympians at it –at walking in the Spirit. And how do we do this? We make the choice to meditate on God’s Word daily, understanding that we must have this Food for our spirit just as we understand we must have physical food for our body. Then we apply the Lord’s words, putting them into practice. We do this every day, every minute. This is how we walk delivered and free.”

Something like that is what I said to this listener. And it’s similar to what I said to many listeners yesterday at the bus stops. It’s the message of hope, of faith, and of freedom. It’s the Great News and the proclamation that everyone needs to hear, understand, and grab hold of.

May all God’s servants believe it whole-heartedly themselves so that they will proclaim it everywhere possible.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

