Women Are Saved Through Childbearing?

August 3, 2014

Friends,
My husband (who has the very best reading voice in the world –so cozy and comforting) asked me this morning (on his day off and after a relaxing cup of coffee) what portion of God’s Word we should read together. When I responded that I didn’t have a preference, he said, “1 Timothy?” I laughed because I’d just listened to 1 and 2 Timothy on CD yesterday. But God seems to do that kind of thing all the time –confirm at least twice something He is saying to me.

There is a lot in those two books and I heard the Spirit instructing me again about several things. But, what I’m writing about today is that which my husband and I discussed regarding Paul’s statement in 1 Tim. 2:15. The statement is this: “But she [women] will be saved through the [their / her] childbearing, if they [she] remain [continue in] faith and love and sanctification [holiness], with discretion [good judgement].” The statement can sound strange. It can sound like women can only be saved by bearing children, or as they bear children. Yet because we know that the rest of God’s Word does not teach this, what could the statement mean?

Some teachers say that “through childbearing” means “through the birth of the Child [Christ]”, but that interpretation is certainly a stretch.

My husband explained it really well to me this morning and it seemed so clear. The context is about the instruction that women are not to assert themselves through flamboyant or immodest appearance, nor through trying to teach men theology or to exert authority over them (in the church or in the home, but not applicable in the work place). Paul’s statement, therefore, in 1 Tim. 2:15 is to let women know that their role in the home is already honorable and pleasing to God, and that as long as they continue to please God, salvation is theirs. In other words, women are not to think that their home-making is inferior to the role of teaching in the church, or that it is keeping them from being saved.

Context is always important and it can definitely enlighten us as to the intent of the writer when we come across statements that could otherwise sound off-base. And of course if we let the whole of Scripture interpret such things for us, we need not be confused by statements that do not seem to match the doctrine of Christ’s Gospel.

So, in response to those who try to create falsehoods around 1 Tim. 2:15…? Well, the confusion is unwarranted and the interpretation actually quite simple.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

