An Email I Will Cherish

July 31, 2014

Friends,
This evening I received one of the most edifying emails I’ve ever gotten. It’s from someone I hear from very rarely, maybe about once every other year, and who I do not think reads my blog, so she would not have known that my post yesterday spoke about the importance of building one another up. Maybe she does read it, I don’t know, but either way, it was incredibly kind of her to write what she did. I hope she doesn’t mind (as I’m leaving her name anonymous), but I just have to share, and save here for myself, these words which brought happy tears to my eyes. In fact, each time I read it, I get a lump in my throat. Maybe it’s because I loved her and cared about her very much (and still do) and truly feared for her about the other man she was engaged to. Hearing how well and happy her life has been, and still is, makes me deeply grateful to the Lord.

It certainly is a big encouragement and blessing when we get to hear that our efforts and/or counsel has affected another for good. It makes us glad that we ourselves listened to the Lord as He taught us and as He led us to do, or speak, or give, or go, or help in whatever way we did.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel
Here is her precious email to me:

Hi Rachel,

I was just thinking about you this morning and wanted to thank you for intervening in my life at a critical time years ago when I was blinded in a bad relationship. Talking to you was really the turning point for me and I am so thankful to you and to God that I walked away from that relationship and that I have been blessed with a wonderful husband and great marriage for the past 8 years.

I frequently think about the conversation we had and just wanted you to know that all these years later, I still remember what you said and I am so thankful God used you in my life. It really saved me. Thank you, Rachel!

I hope you are doing well!
You are a blessing. Keep up the good work serving HIM!
love,
_______

