We Grieve Comforted

July 19, 2014

Friends,
I was so thankful to hear from my mom that, while she and my dad had spent time with her sister today, her sister was doing well considering her husband’s death this last Monday. My aunt made them lunch today and shared some more of the details, one being that my uncle had been in intense pain since his fall three weeks before which had broken his vertebrae. Another detail she mentioned was that many of the hospital staff had commented about being incredibly blessed to see a family that was so obviously close and caring of one another. My aunt said that their six kids, their spouses, and all the grandkids and great-grandkids had been surrounding their hurting loved one with continuous visits of love.

My aunt told my parents about how two of the family members had sung all the hymns they could think of that they knew were my uncle’s favorites, and how this brought a huge comfort into the room, including for my uncle as he, still coherent, neared death’s door. She also relayed that my uncle had asked the pastor to be sure to stress to everyone through the funeral sermon the importance of getting right with the Lord.

My parents went to the funeral two days ago and they said the whole thing was very beautiful. My 103 year old grandpa, considering it a priority to go, went as well, and the church was packed. My mom mentioned to me an extra-special framed poem one of the grandsons had written that was being passed around afterward that clearly revealed how loved my uncle was by all of his family.

One of the things I’ve been praying for all week, several times a day, is for the Lord to comfort the family, especially my mom’s sister. I was very thankful to God to hear that my aunt had told my parents that, from both the Lord and from family, she had experienced much peace and comfort.

It’s true: Those who know and love the Great and Tender Shepherd do not grieve like the rest of the world. We grieve in hope, we grieve with peace, we grieve with the knowledge that God, who is rich in mercy and love, is sovereign over all, including how and when we and our loved ones pass from this earthly life.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

