God’s Vengeance Through Israel

July 17, 2014

Friends,
I find it a concern that Israeliteindeed has written several posts lately with the viewpoint that all the promises God made to Israel, as a physical nation, have either been fulfilled or negated. See http://israeliteindeed.wordpress.com

I also find it a concern that she seems to be lumping in those who disagree with her view with those who, while claiming to be Christians, she finds are engaging in hypocrisy, elitism, racism, and “zionism”, and are victims of propaganda. I myself do not watch T.V. or listen to radio or internet news, nor do I read blogs that discuss the Mideast conflict; but even for those true Christ-followers who may, a person whose mind is controlled by the Spirit tosses out falsehoods coming from the world. Any information we get, we hold up to the light of God’s Word while remaining under the tutelage of His Spirit.

I believe we should be very careful about writing against any country as a whole. The problem in the world is sin, and it is everywhere. Therefore I do not believe it is wise to focus too heavily (or angrily) on one particular nation (or race) and their prevalent sins. I cannot think of one nation of the world that is not evil and corrupt.

There are, undoubtably, nuts-who-claim-to-be-Christians ranting across the internet, but this does not mean that there are not many level-headed true Christians who have a good understanding on the complexity of the Mideast conflict. Though I certainly believe in a spiritual Israel, as Israeliteindeed does, I believe her focus of the physical-Israel controversy she is writing about to be misplaced. For the issue should not be about racism or favoritism on God’s part, nor on the part of those who believe His Word, but about prophecy –what God has foretold about what will happen concerning the nation of Israel.

Most everyone hates to see bloodshed and anyone mistreating another. However, God does use evil rulers to accomplish His punishments against certain peoples and to bring about any other part of His will He chooses. One obvious example is the cross of Christ. Another is when God said, “I will send for My servant Nebachadnezzar king of Babylon, and I will set his throne over these stones I have buried here… He will come and attack…” (Jer. 43:10,11) Jesus’ work while He walked on earth as a man was not to overthrow any government except Satan’s, but God certainly does overthrow earthly governments and raise others up. (Dan. 2:21 & 5:25-28)

Let’s look at Ezek. 25:14 where God says, “‘I will take vengeance on Edom by the hand of My people Israel, and they will deal with Edom in accordance with My anger and My wrath…'” Verses 15-17 are telling, as well: “‘Because the Philistines acted in vengeance and took revenge with malice in their hearts, and with ancient hostility sought to destroy Judah, therefore this is what the Sovereign LORD says: I am about to stretch out My hand against the Philistines… I will carry out great vengeance on them…'” God Himself takes revenge and often does so through the violence of nations. God has done so, continues to do so, and will do so at the very end, as Rev. 19:11-21 describes. Our compassion, which comes from God Himself, about lives and souls being destroyed, does not negate God’s just punishments and how He chooses to punish. He punishes everyone who refuses to repent of sin. Sometimes even the righteous, because they are somehow aligned with the wicked, must endure some of the punishment as well. (2 Chron. 20:35-37 // Job 36:17 // Ezek. 21:1-5)

Let’s study these verses: “‘I will bring back My exiled people Israel; they will rebuild the ruined cities and live in them… I will plant Israel in their own land, never again to be uprooted from the land I have given them,’ says the LORD your God.” (Amos 9:14,15) “Never again to be uprooted” is telling, and so are verses 11 and 12: “‘In that day I will restore David’s fallen tent. I will repair its broken places, restore its ruins, and build it as it used to be, so that they may possess the remnant of Edom…'” Spiritual Israel has not ever fallen, nor ever will. God refers in this passage to physical Israel and building it as it used to be. He is referring to “the land I had sworn with uplifted hand to give to your fathers.” (Ezek. 20:42)

Let’s consider these: “Oh mountains of Israel, hear the word of the LORD… ‘Because they ravaged and hounded you from every side so that you became the possession of the rest of the nations and the object of people’s malicious talk and slander…'” (Ezek. 36:1-3) Other nations do not, and cannot, possess any part of spiritual Israel. Furthermore, God directs the prophecy to “the mountains and hills, to the ravines and valleys, to the desolate ruins and the deserted towns that have been plundered and ridiculed by the rest of the nations around you.” (v. 4) Spiritual Israel is not in desolate ruin (Mt. 11:12) nor have we been plundered by the world; instead –victoriously– we have overcome the world. (1 John 5:4)

Continuing: “This is what the Sovereign LORD says: In My burning zeal I have spoken against the rest of the nations, and against all Edom, for with glee and with malice in their hearts they made My land their own possession…” (Ezek. 36:5) Again, natural men can never overtake and possess spiritual Israel. God says, “You [Edom] boasted against Me” (35:13) concerning “the mountains of Israel.” (v. 12) “I will give you [Edom] over to bloodshed and it will pursue you. Since you did not hate bloodshed, bloodshed will pursue you.” (v. 6) “It is not for your sake, O house of Israel, that I am going to do these things, but for the sake of My holy name, which has been profaned among the nations where you have gone… the name you have profaned among them.” (36:22,23) The true spiritual Israel does not profane God’s name, but honors Him; therefore this is about physical Israel.

Here is more from God’s Word: “I will bring you from the nations and gather you from the countries where you have been scattered…” (Ezek. 20:34) Physical Israel, not spiritual Israel, was scattered among the nations as punishment, which is what God says in verses 23 and 24. He also says, “I will bring you into the desert of the nations and there, face to face, I will execute judgment upon you.” (v. 35) “I will purge you of those who revolt and rebel against Me.” (v. 38) Spiritual Israel is not in revolt against God. “As for you, O house of Israel, this is what the Sovereign LORD says: Go and serve your idols, every one of you! But afterward you will surely listen to Me and no longer profane My holy name with your gifts and idols. For on My holy mountain, the high mountain of Israel, declares the Sovereign LORD, there in the land the entire house of Israel will serve Me, and there I will accept them.'” (v. 39,40) Spiritual Israel (being that she is spiritual) does not serve idols and then afterward serve the Lord.

God’s Word is telling us that physical Israel will turn, as a nation, to recognize her Messiah, repent, and serve the Lord. (Ezek. ch. 20 // Zech. 12:10-14 // Rom. 11:26) For on account of the patriarchs, God’s love and promises concerning them stand irrevocable. (Rom. 11:25-29) The issue is about prophecy and God’s promises in Scripture, not about racism coming from propaganda.

I have very much appreciated most of Israeliteindeed’s posts, but concerning God’s promises to the physical nation of Israel, I believe she is not correct.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

