Delighting In Wickedness

February 4, 2014

Friends,
Concerning people who are deceived into believing a counterfeit gospel, such people are not going to be saved from God’s wrath. (2 Cor. 4:3,4 // Gal. 1:6-9 // 2 Thes. 2:9,10) To be saved, a person must believe the Truth. (1 Cor. 15:2) This believing (faith / belief) must be, not merely an acknowledgement of the Message, but a whole-hearted trust in Christ with an adherence to His teaching. (John 8:31-36 // Ja. 2:14-26) That is what frees and saves (same verses), and it comes by eating Christ (John 6:53-63), meaning nourishing oneself on His words which are Spirit and Life. (same verses)

Unfortunately many people are not feeding on, nor obeying, Christ’s Word, Spirit, and Life, and therefore they are not walking the Way (the Road) to God, nor are they walking in the Truth (John 14:6 // 1 John 2:3-6 // 2 John 1:4) or in Christ’s love. (John 15:10) If they loved the Truth, they would do so. But, since they do not love the Truth, they will perish. (2 Thes. 2:10)

Why do people, even when the Truth is presented to them clearly and with an abundance of support, not love the Truth, at least not enough to adhere to it? It is because they delight too much in wickedness. (2 Thes. 2:12)

Before we point the finger at those others whom we think enjoy wickedness, let’s evaluate ourselves by asking ourselves such questions as these:

Do I enjoy watching things on T.V. or the internet that I know are unholy in God’s sight? If so, I am delighting in wickedness.

Do I enjoy putting others down so that I look and sound superior? If so, I am delighting in wickedness.

Am I glad when I am able to control others through my aggression or neglect toward them?

Do I get a thrill when I find that I can lie to someone and get away with it?

Do I laugh to myself when I can trick someone, insult someone, or cause them discomfort or pain?

Do I enjoy enticing others to sin so that I can feel better about my own sinfulness?

Do I spend any of my time and effort lusting after people, possessions, or money?

Do I neglect God’s Word and ignore the Spirit’s voice telling me to repent and obey Christ’s commands?

If I am committing any of these sins (or any other sin), I am breaking “God’s royal law of love” (see Ja. 2:8) which commands me to love God with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength, and to love my fellowman in the same manner as I (should) love myself. (same verse) The entire law of God is summed up in these two commands. (Luke 10:27,28 // Rom. 13:9 // Gal. 5:14) Obeying them is what brings Life and thus salvation. (Mt. 19:17 // Luke 10:27,28) Disobeying them is lawlessness (1 John 3:4), and lawlessness is a crime against God who is King. Refusing to repent –to renounce and turn from these criminal deeds– is what causes a person to fall from (2 Peter 1:8-11 & 3:17), or fall short of (Rom. 3:23), He who is God’s “Grace and Truth” (John 1:17), thereby bringing upon oneself eternal condemnation. (Rom. 6:23 // Gal. 6:7,8) It is so foolish! For it is so unnecessary when God has provided redemption through the blood of Jesus (Rom. 3:25) as well as the power, through His Spirit and Word, to abide by (walk in obedience to) His Law! (Gal. 5:16 // 2 Peter 1:3,4)

But, the counterfeit gospel marches on. It hammers into people the message that salvation comes merely by believing in Christ’s atonement and by trusting Him to save them from Hell. Hence multitudes walk the “Road of the Lie” (see Isa. 28:7-20 // 2 Thes. 2:11 // 2 Peter 2:17-22) and because of their love for wickedness and their hatred of (or indifference to) the Truth, then God, because of His justice, punishes them by sending them a powerful delusion so that they will fully believe their false, disgusting, and enslaving doctrine. (same verses // 2 Thes. 2:9-12)

Affirming (confessing / declaring) that one believes that Jesus is Savior and Lord is not enough. (Mt. 7:21 // Luke 6:4649) People must put action to their verbal acknowledgement and show that they love God by turning from all wickedness (2 Tim. 2:19), by obeying His commands (John 14:15 // 2 John 1:6), and by walking in His will. (Mt. 7:21) This is the teaching of God’s Word, and if anyone does not adhere to it, or supports those who do not, that person has participated in wicked works (2 John 1:10,11), does not have God (v. 9), does not belong to Christ (same verse), does not have the Spirit (Rom. 8:9 // 1 John 3:24), and is not walking in Eternal Life. (1 John 5:20)

May we all be wise and, so that we might abide in “the grace of God that brings salvation” (Titus 2:11), continually choose “to say ‘No’ to ungodliness [wickedness] and worldly passions” (v. 12) –those things which Christ Jesus died to redeem us from! (v. 14)

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

