Why Visit Gravesides?

December 19, 2013

Friend,
I find it odd when people insist on visiting gravesides of loved ones. I’m not saying it’s necessarily wrong, especially if the point is to honor the memory of the person. However, it seems that often it is done as if the deceased person’s spirit still lingers there to watch whether or not the living person will come to visit. In the case of this prevalent attitude, I think the practice is then creepy.

When a person dies, that person’s spirit is not locked in the coffin nor is it anywhere near the grave. Instead the spirit is with the Lord or in Hell. We know this because of what Jesus said to the repentant thief on the cross and also from the account He gave concerning the rich man and Lazarus.

So what is the point of promises about visiting gravesides? I certainly see no point in anyone visiting my graveside when I die. I’m not going to be there, so why would I care one bit? I’d much rather people honor me by reminding others of things I’d done to better the world. Wouldn’t everyone prefer this? And when it comes to parents, wouldn’t they especially want to know that whatever good they had taught their children was being carried out? That seems to be the real way to honor a deceased parent.

Maybe you could try to talk to your spouse about these things..?

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

