Ever Hearing But Never Understanding

November 23, 2013

Friends,
Yesterday I received an encouraging comment at my comment page from a guy named Sam. Here is part of what he wrote to me there:

Hi Rachel, I read your blog post on OSAS being heresy some time ago and it helped me greatly. I grew up in a church that taught free grace theology and thought it was what every Christian believed. It’s been a huge wake up call since then. Looking back, reading the bible was an awkward experience because I had to mentally blot out the verses that contradicted the theology I grew up with. Now I can just read the bible for what it says.

Since then, I’ve compiled my own writings on grace and salvation here:

http://eternityinourheart.com/osas/

~~~~~~~~

I clicked that link and read Sam’s excellent arguments against the false OSAS doctrine. I definitely urge everyone else to read there as well.

I find it very interesting what Sam says (in his comment to me) about the awkwardness he used to experience as he read God’s Word, was confronted there by verses that contradicted OSAS doctrine, and therefore had to mentally blot out what those verses were actually teaching. For I have found it incredible that people, including Bible scholars, apparently do block from their minds the true doctrine of Scripture when it does not fit the popular belief system they are a part of –even when the Truth it is explained multiple times, in various ways, and so blatantly and clearly.

No wonder the Lord’s words to Isaiah are recorded several times in the New Testament, including in the words of Jesus: “You will be ever hearing but never understanding; you will be ever seeing but never perceiving. For this people’s heart has become calloused; they hardly hear with their ears, and they have closed their eyes. Otherwise they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears, understand with their hearts and turn, and I would heal them.” (Mt. 13:14,15) Does this not describe those who, by their going to churches that teach OSAS, become increasingly calloused to the evil of sin and deeper entrenched in their deafness to what God’s Word is actually saying?

Thankfully, though, there are those who do choose to listen to God’s Word above men’s word (Mt. 13:16), do then grow in the knowledge of the Truth, do produce a good crop, and so are saved. (v. 18-23 // 2 Peter 1:5-11)

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

