Test & Judge Ourselves Often

November 14, 2013

Friends,
We are to study God’s Word so that we can become approved by God. (Ps. 119:11 // 2 Tim. 2:15) His approval is not automatic (contrary to what many believe). Confession of sin, repentance, and praying to be saved by Christ does not warrant the approval of God if we do not keep on walking and abiding and growing in the Truth. (John 15:1-10) It is only as we study God’s Book of commands and instructions, and put what we read there into practice, doing so in the power of the Holy Spirit, that we can be approved by God. (Luke 6:46-49)

2 Cor. 13:5 tells us to examine and test our spiritual condition to see if we are abiding in that which God approves of. Also, 1 Cor. 11:31 tells us to judge ourselves so that we will not come under judgement. Therefore, carefully testing and judging ourselves should be a frequent habit. Here are some questions to ask ourselves as we do that:

~~Am I seeking God’s will in every area of my life? Or am I doing what I want most of the time?

~~Am I reading God’s Word, praying, praising Him, and going forth under the Spirit’s control? Or am I neglecting these things.

~~Am I loving God with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength, thanking Him for Christ’s atonement which saves me from sin and Hell, and showing my gratefulness through my life? Or is my heart somewhat calloused to God and what He has done for me?

~~Am I being kind, patient, considerate, merciful, and loving to my fellow man? Or am I being rude, slanderous, hostile, and even cruel to those who don’t line up with my expectations?

~~Do I stand up for truth, righteousness, and justice, and always practice these myself? Or do I care little about these unless I’m the one getting hurt?

~~Am I an honest person? Or could others consider me a liar and a deceiver?

~~Are my words and thoughts true, pure, and clean? Or do I speak and think any way I want?

~~Do I have integrity, godly morals, and purity? Or do I act treacherous, immoral, and perverse?

~~Does my life uphold Christ’s teachings? Or is my life a dishonor to Christ’s name?

If our life does not line up with that which is pleasing to God, then the Spirit of Christ Jesus is not in us. (Rom. 8:9 // 2 Cor. 13:5) And if that is the case, then we had best repent, call out to the Lord to save us, and study the Word of God diligently so that we can obey it and become approved by Him.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

