To Jim Fox

September 3, 2013

Jim Fox,
Slander is a grievous sin, and those who practice it, right along with those who practice sexual sin, theft, hatred, discord, jealously, and fits of rage (1 Cor. 6:9,10 // Gal. 5:19-21), will reap Hell. From your tone and words, I will have to caution you about several of those sins, as well as your sin of mockery, and about throwing your stone / your judgmental statement: “This guy is definitely full of SIN in his life.” Do you have sin in your heart and life? Jesus warns us to examine our own selves first as He says, “If any one of you is without sin, let him be the first to throw a stone…” (John 8:7)

Maybe you’d do well to ask yourself if you are truly a man who walks in the Spirit. Ask yourself, too, if you are walking in wisdom. Is it wise, and is it of the Spirit, to introduce yourself to me via an attack? Wisdom is supreme and we are to seek it as our top priority, for therein is the knowledge of God. (Pr. 2:1-6 & 4:7) Those who are wise walk in the Spirit continuously and they therefore behave and speak humbly, not with arrogance and hostility as you have. While accusing me of pride and boasting, you say, “I’m pulling down your mighty stronghold of who you think you are in relationship to Christ Jesus.” Really? How so? Are you saying my beliefs now crumble due to your angry outburst? Is that not great pride on your part?

Well, as for me, I boast in the Lord alone. Yes, He who makes His true and faithful followers walk steady, strong, and victorious. Does that make you angry, Jim? I see that you resent my confidence about knowing the Lord, His Word, and His voice, and so you call that pride. No, pride and confidence are not synonymous. Confidence is being sure of the One Whom we are in unity with, and knowing what He has told us. Confidence is walking out our Lord’s instructions with faith, trust, courage, boldness, maturity, and wisdom.

I would caution you about slandering Jeremy Riddle without stating what it is he does that is so sinful. Moreover, your accusations must be reliable and correct and your sources trustworthy. Also, for me to post a song I heard in passing or at church and that struck a grateful and worshipful chord in my heart toward God, is not the same as promoting the singer himself (though he must be acknowledged). There are about three songs by Riddle that I like (or even know about), and I certainly don’t promote or post him, or any man or band, but instead songs that have God-exalting words and peaceful or joyful music. I’m sorry if you think that it is my business to take precious time out to research the lives of singers so as to try to find out if they are sinful, or if they are holy enough for me to worship God through their songs. If that is your doctrine and you want others to adhere to it, then it’d be wise of you to explain your beliefs with tact and humility, not anger.

Your comment has reminded me of the Pharisee in Luke 18:11: “God, I thank You that I am not like all other men –robbers, evildoers, adulterers– or even like this tax collector.” I exhort you to check your heart and see if you have added to the Pharisee’s words, “For they sin, but I don’t sin. And I sure don’t worship You, God, with incorrect kinds of music.” What is the music you believe God is pleased with? Is it the type you like, that which you are used to, and that which is the culture of your brand of “Christianity”? Definitely there is a lot of wicked music out there that calls itself “Christian”, but let’s remember that God created variety for His pleasure, as well as for ours, and a variant that is not to our liking is not necessarily wicked. Let’s remember the record of King David and his wife Michal, and that harboring contempt toward a fellow worshipper of God is another detestable sin in God’s eyes. (2 Sam. 6:16-23)

My comment page is not open to those who wish to waste others’ time and who work for the enemy to distract God’s people from instructing one another constructively. Therefore, Jim, please do not comment here again until your own heart has been cleansed, and you can approach a discussion with respect toward others.

Rachel

