Jesus Is The LORD, Not Only God’s Son

August 28, 2013

Friends,
A few days ago some Jehovah Witnesses stopped by the home of a friend of mine and she told me about it. I then told her about the time when I engaged two JWs in discussion when they stopped at my door back in the mid-90s. I told her that it wasn’t but a week or so later that they sent two others, one of them being their top woman “witness”, as I guess they considered me a hard, but hopeful case. I had decided to listen to them as if they could be correct, and so they came many times after that, thinking, I’m sure, that they could eventually persuade me. At home alone I spent at least six months studying their beliefs, how they differed from evangelical Christianity, and checking both out against the Word of God. Later I did the same thing as I checked out numerous other doctrines, sects, cults, and religious beliefs as they compared or differed from God’s Word. It was certainly enlightening, to say the least. And I definitely learned the critical importance of knowing, for myself, what God’s Word actually says.

One of the most grievous falsehoods that most cults teach, including the JWs, is that Jesus was/is not God, but that He is only God’s Son. Many teach that He was created (or birthed) into existence, not that He Himself is the eternal God, the One who created all that exists, and that He Himself entered a virgin’s womb to be birthed as a human. However, to believe a falsehood about Christ’s Deity is damnable. Jesus made this clear in John 8:58 when He said, “Before Abraham was born, I am!” The Jews “picked up stones to stone Him” (v. 59) for they understood that His claim to exist before Abraham was born meant that Jesus was claiming to be God. Not only had He been teaching with authority, doing miracles, claiming to forgive sins, and declaring Himself to be “from above… [and] not of this world” (see v. 23), but Jesus also was stating, “If you do not believe that I am, you will indeed die in your sins.” (v. 24) Thereby Jesus was warning them of damnation if they chose to deny that He was the “I Am” (YHWH / the LORD / the Sovereign God) in the flesh.

I quoted Col. 2:9 to my friend and she eagerly wrote it down. It says, “For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form.” But there are also many, many other verses and passages that declare that Jesus is the bodily image of the invisible Creator, the Father, the only Ruler, the Pre-existent One, the Eternal God. One is Col. 1:15-20 which states that Jesus created all things and existed before all things, another is John 1:1,14 which reveals that Jesus is the Word made human and that He existed with God from the beginning, and another is Isa. 9:6 which gives Jesus the titles “Mighty God” and “Everlasting Father”.

One of the passages I took special note of back in the 90s was Isa. 45:21c where the LORD says, “There is no God apart from Me, a righteous God and a Savior; there is none but Me.” How, I thought, could God the Father, say this, and still promote Jesus as the only one who could redeem (save) mankind? For in verse 22 the LORD continues, “Turn to Me and be saved, all you ends of the earth; for I am God, and there is no other.” Why then are we to look to Jesus to be saved? Why does Acts 4:12 say there is salvation in no other? And why, in Isa. 45:23, would the LORD say, “Surely every knee will bow to Me; every tongue will affirm [My sovereignty –see v. 24,25]” if this is being said of Jesus in Phil. 2:9-11? The reason is, is that Jesus is the LORD.

It is imperative that we study God’s Word carefully and continuously. Otherwise we are very likely to get fooled by those who promote doctrines which twist the Truth ever so slightly but ever so dangerously.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

