My Dad’s Commitments Have Changed Futures

August 13, 2013

Friends,
The earth swarms with people in desperation, people waiting for someone to intercede for them, someone to care, someone to extend to them kindness void of selfish motivation. Are there any rescuers? Are there any who have God’s heart and God’s Spirit and who can therefore hear His instructions to go and search and help and love?

Are there any servants fully committed to Christ’s cause? Any committed enough to stand up for the Gospel, for truth, for mercy, and for righteousness, even at the cost of career, family, home, and safety? Are there any who have devoted their lives to helping, without pay, the blind, the lame, the sick, the diseased, and even the leprous?

Are there any who are willing to risk all, to give up one’s time, effort, and reputation to investigate what the truth of a matter really is, willing to expose lies when injustice has come to the throne? Are there any who are willing to do such things, time after time, receive no glory from it, receive little or even no thanks, and yet work steadily in this manner regardless? Are there any whose decisions are made because, “This is the right thing to do.” –? Any whose hearts God can examine and say, “He did it for Me.” –?

God knows all His people who conduct themselves in this way. But I know at least one. It’s my dad. I won’t go into the details, but I’ve watched. I’ve watched how his compassion, his patience, and his commitment to Truth, to righteousness, to justice, and to Christ has changed many a tide. And how people are delivered from pits, even the pit. And how, through God’s Spirit and my dad’s obedience, many different kinds of towers –towers involving pride, injustice, evil, and lies– do crumble.

Jesus says in John 12:26, “If any man serves Me, him will My Father honor.” My dad has served Jesus and His Kingdom. The repercussions, the ripple effect, the multiplication factor… on that Final Day will be seen –that Day when God rewards and honors His servants.

And what about those who influenced my dad? They will be honored also –honored for what they did in his life, as well as in many others’ lives. God knows all about their deeds. He knows who they are. But one I know about. He is the guy who was patient enough, stern enough, and caring and loving enough, to let a crazy teenager (my dad), work under him at Campus by the Sea, and who helped to change the tide of my dad’s future. To read some exciting true stories that happened there, and how the Lord worked through many, click here and then scroll down just a tad to “Tom Headland Stories”.

http://www.campusbythesea.org/resources/our-history-in-stories-home-page/tom-headland

I wanted to honor my dad today. He knows why.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

