Words That Inspire

April 29, 2013

Friends,
I love the word “beautiful”. That word itself has such a graceful and lovely sound. I think that’s why the name, Jennifer, (which is my sister’s name) also sounds so pretty.

I love the word “precious”. It reminds me of things that have been given to me by people I cherish, and it reminds me of them, as well. The word causes me to think grateful thoughts about these dear people and reasons why I appreciate and love them.

I love the word “cherish”. What an endearing word! Similar to the word “precious”, the word “cherish” invokes happy, secure, and comforting thoughts, thoughts of being valued and cared for by someone I love, as well as reasons why I treasure and protect that person who loves me.

I love the word “splendor”. This word flashes across my mind when I see a spectacular sunset, a majestic mountain, or a shimmering sea. My spirit leaps for joy at the works of God’s hands, my heart stands in awe, and my lips whisper, “Oh Lord, the God of Beauty, Majesty, and Splendor, You are great. I adore Your name. I worship You, You who are my Heavenly Father, the One who is always there for me, the One who cares for me, listens, answers, and loves. Thank You so, so much for blessing me to know You. I love You, God. I love You.”

I love the word “majesty”. It makes me immediately think of my God, the Lord Most High, the Creator of the galaxies, and the glorious King of kings who is more powerful, wise, and awesome than anyone can fathom. Yet even in His grandeur, He smiles at me, at me, at me. And He lifts me up from the ash heap and bids me, “Come and dine” –to join Him at His own table. Yes, the Glorious One, robed in majesty, invited me to be His own. And accepting, I have never regretted it. Not even close.

I could go on with other wonderful words. But what prompted me to write about these in particular? Actually, it was as I read Ps. 138:4,5 a bit ago. Yes, while others sleep, I must quietly open my Bible and meet alone once more with my Best Friend. For this psalm that He “gave” me, prompted me to respond with the words “beautiful” and “precious” as I was thinking of how much I cherish the Lord’s Word and presence, and as I was meditating on His splendor and majesty.

Here is the psalm: “May all the kings of the earth praise You, O LORD, when they hear the words of Your mouth. May they sing of the ways of the LORD, for the glory of the LORD is great.” (Ps. 138:4,5)

It is a continual marvel how the Lord speaks to us. I have read that psalm many, many times, but this time, yes, this time, His Spirit in it spoke to my spirit reading it. Those words are beautiful! Listen. It’s a prayer. May all… the kings… –those people who rule, influence, or command others. May they praise the Lord, for then others will see and hear and do so as well. Wouldn’t that be fantastic? And when will they do so? When they hear the words of God’s mouth. That means when they hear us, His servants, proclaiming God’s Word, Message, Gospel, Commands, Laws, Precepts, Love, Justice, Care, Holiness, and Righteousness, they will have cause to praise the Lord! What then do we pray they will do? That they will sing of the ways of the Lord, of His attributes, of His character, of His just judgements and shielding care. Why should they? Because the glory, splendor, and majesty of the Lord is magnificent.

Truly, what a great psalm! What an exciting prayer! And what beautiful words to inspire hope, encouragement, and worship!

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

