Speaking Hidden Truths With One’s Spirit, By The Spirit

April 2, 2013

Friends,
As I was driving home earlier this evening, and being that I was tired, I decided that instead of interceding aloud or rehearsing verses, I would, this time, relax my mind a bit and just “pray [and]… sing with my spirit.” (1 Cor. 14:15) I don’t claim to know all about what this means –that is, what it means to “pray in the Holy Spirit” (Jude 1:20; see also Eph. 6:18), or what it means to groan in wordless intercession by the Spirit (Rom. 8:26), or what it means to “speak hidden truths with one’s spirit” (see 1 Cor. 14:2), but I do know that it is commanded of us in God’s Word. And I also know that when I’m prodded by the Lord to do it, and I obey by opening my mouth, the Spirit does bring the song, the prayer, and/or the cry. Whichever it is, it is very beautiful, and it has a distinctly different sound than when I sing, pray, or cry on my own.

So, this evening, I was thinking I would pray in the Spirit, but when I opened my mouth it was undeniably a cry. Not a weeping cry, but a calling kind of cry. I was calling to God about something; or rather, the Spirit in me was calling to Him. I honestly do like to pray in the Spirit in English because then I know what I’m saying, and that is edifying; but as the Word tells us, we also edify ourselves if we use another language by the Spirit. (1 Cor. 14:4) Our spirit is edified either way, and if our spirit be edified, then our faith has certainly strengthened (Jude 1:20), even though our mind may have remained unproductive. (1 Cor. 14:14)

So, as I said, it was a calling cry, or a crying call. It did sound serious, somber, even somewhat sad. And what was different than usual was that though the tone and intonation changed, the “words” were few –like they were not sentences, but instead long cries. I continued this for over 15 minutes as I was driving home. I tried to change it to words, but I could tell that that wasn’t what the Spirit wanted, so I just let Him lead, and I listened to my voice, accepting that the Spirit, through me, was indeed calling.

So what did I do with my mind? I focused it on verses I know and also on words of splendor that describe the Lord. Definitely, I was experiencing my spirit doing something different than what my mind was doing, though both were under obedience to Christ.

Why do I tell this? Why do I share such an intimate experience between the Lord and me? Why do I make myself vulnerable to some readers’ unbelief or criticism? I do so because I believe this subject is one we all need to learn more about. We need to learn it from the Lord Himself, His Word, and as we carefully discuss it with others who are also Christ’s true disciples. The issue of singing, speaking, rebuking, praying, interceding, weeping, crying, groaning, and calling in the Spirit has been greatly mishandled. We who walk in the Spirit, we who live by the Spirit, need to come to understand what the Spirit is teaching us about it. This is why I share. I share what I’m learning, that it might benefit someone else’s progress. And because, even by writing about it, I force myself to advance under His tutelage.

May we all make use of every gift the Lord is trying to instruct us to become skilled in using. For we do want God glorified, we do want souls saved, and we do want to be pleasing to our Captain. But there is an enemy. He works from the spiritual plane; and man, living in the natural, physical world, must learn to fight him by the spiritual, meaning, by the Holy Spirit. We who are born of the Spirit are fully equipped to defeat the evil one. However, we must listen to God’s instructions, learn His teachings, and put them to practice. We can’t do this if we don’t put our hand to the plow –including that of opening our mouths whenever and however the Spirit leads.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

