Meditations On Funerals & Judgement

January 25, 2013

Friends,
Today was the funeral of one of the elderly missionaries we’ve known. Death always reminds me of the fact that we all will die and face the Judgement, some of us much sooner than we expect, and all of us “soon” in light of eternity. Time just keeps racing by, doesn’t it?

Most of us hear of death quite often. Visiting at the nursing home the last ten years has certainly faced me with it time and again. Even now one of my best friends is in the hospital, quite sick. Being downtown, spreading the Gospel and praying for people at the bus stops, has brought to my ears sad tidings such as, “Did you hear about so-and-so? He died of a drug overdose last week.” Or, “So-and-so was found dead yesterday under a bridge. They think he died from pneumonia.” Or, “My brother was murdered last month. Will you pray for our family?” And of course, living amongst the Agta, we’ve seen much sickness and death as well.

Heb. 9:27 informs us that we have only one life to live and that after we die we will face God’s judgement. 1 Cor. 4:5 informs us that at that appointed time of judgement, God will bring to light what is hidden in darkness and will expose the motives of every heart. Rom. 2:16 tells us that this will take place on the day when God will judge everyone’s secrets, while 3:19 warns us that every mouth will be silenced as the whole world is held accountable to God. Since nothing is hidden from God’s sight, every deed –including every careless, slanderous, hateful, and lustful word and thought (Matt. 5:21-30 & 12:36,37)– will be uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of Him to whom we must give account. (Heb. 4:13)

For anyone who fears God and believes His Word, this information should be sobering –and sobering to the point of taking action. –The action of falling on one’s knees and face, and calling out to God for mercy, for cleansing, for forgiveness and redemption.

Furthermore, everyone should ask themselves often, “Does my life please God? And when my body lies in the casket, will people be able to say that I was an encourager and that I upheld and spread God’s Truth and love? Will they be able to acknowledge that I lived a life of integrity and compassion, and that I stood for justice and forgiveness? Will they consider that I made the world a better place? Or… will I pass away to nobody’s regret? –Except for their regret that I refused to quit my sinfulness and so chose eternity in Hell?”

Death is real. But so is the Judgement. Let’s think about that before it’s too late.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

