Read The Word, Read The Word…

December 8, 2012

Friends,
I was standing next to a parking lot today and a woman approached me, “Is that your car?”

“Yes,” I answered a bit worried. “Is something wrong with it?”

“Oh no,” the woman said. “I just wanted to tell you that I really like your signs in the back seat.”

I thanked her and immediately took the opportunity to express to her the reason I have those signs in my car –that my immense and unashamed love for the Gospel of Christ compels me to proclaim it using those signs at the Dart bus and train stops downtown. She was very happy to hear about such a ministry as I told her that the signs also seem to let people know that I am available to pray with them, listen to them, encourage them, and give them answers from God’s Word. She asked if I get any negative comments. I told her that any negativity is extremely rare and that most people are appreciative, even excited, to see someone trying to give out Truth.

The conversation revealed to me that the woman goes to a church a friend of mine used to go to, but then, wanting to redirect our dialogue from talk of church (since that is often a crutch people use to divert attention away from the vital –that of having a close relationship with Christ Himself), I said, “I always say that reading God’s Word is of top importance.”

The woman said, “Oh, true. I need to do that more. In fact, a preacher I was just watching on T.V. was saying the same thing.”

See? This is what I keep stressing: Christians are not in the Word for themselves. This is not good! How can Christians know the Truth when there are so many doctrines out there being preached? How are they to know if a preacher is interpreting a Scripture passage correctly? How are they to keep from being blown about by every wind of teaching and the craftiness of men? (Eph. 4:14) No wonder there are so many infantile Christians! (See same verse) –Christians who aren’t mature enough to discern right from wrong, plow through trials, or consistently keep obeying God’s Spirit and Word.

We must read God’s Word. We must know God’s Word. And we must put it into practice. But to do so correctly, and in line with the Lord’s will, we must know, by having studied it under the Spirit’s tutelage (1 John 2:26,27), exactly what it says, know how to interpret it accurately (2 Tim. 2:15), and know how to enact our obedience to it by the Spirit’s power. How different the church would look and act if this was what every believer was doing!

Later, when I walked by that same woman, I said softly, “Read the Word, read the Word, read the Word.” She laughed and promised that she will certainly begin doing so. I will be praying she does.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

