Thankfulness On Thanksgiving Day

November 22, 2012

Friends,
Happy Thanksgiving to everyone! I hope everyone has a wonderful day thanking God all day for all sorts of things, and that everyone has a cheerful day full of love with family and/or friends, along with enjoyments of fun and food!

When I woke up this morning I saw that the Lord had given me another sunrise blessing to be thankful for, and it was gorgeous. He knows how I love how He colors the skies with sunrises and sunsets! Below are three photos I took of it this morning from our yard.

Since half of our family is out of town, we are celebrating at my parents’ house in a few days. That makes me able to go today with a friend who is helping to feed the poor at an outreach church. It should be exciting! I haven’t been able to do this for several years.

I was going to write about some more things to be thankful for, but I’ll just say, I’m so thankful for the Lord. He’s my best friend, my Comforter, my Counselor, my Shepherd, my Song, my Joy, my Contentment, and so much more! I am exceedingly grateful for His Word He has given us and that we live in a land where we can obtain it at almost any corner and hear it from pulpits and airwaves. Many peoples of the earth do not have this huge privilege. It may be outlawed under their government, or they may just not have it in their language. Or, there may be so few copies, that someone has to ride a bike from one village to another as they pass around just a few pages of Scripture they’ve had to tear out of one Bible so they all can take turns reading it. Oh yes, I’m thankful for God’s Word!!!

I also want to say I’m thankful for my husband, for his support, help, and encouragement in my ministries all these years, and also that he can be with his family in another state this holiday. I’m thankful for my family who all love the Lord and serve Him. I’m thankful for the mission I grew up in and all my “aunts” and “uncles” from the Philippine branch who were wonderful role models and who, besides my parents, helped teach me God’s Word when I was away at boarding school. And I’m thankful for friends.

I want to specifically thank that sweet friend who contacted me over my blog and met with me one evening to talk about her walk of faith. What a precious, considerate, and lovely person you are. I am praying for you daily, asking God to do great things for you and your family. I’ve even been led to pray that since you want to do a missions trip, that zeal will be passed to your two adorable daughters, and that one day they will take the Gospel overseas.

I want to thank another friend I met over this blog and who has gone out street preaching in her city –even with signs! I am hugely blessed by your courage and perseverance, even in the face of insult. May God pour blessings on you and give you His presence and voice of instruction and comfort and power always. I’ve thought of her (and called her) “Warrior for God”, for she’s definitely been warring against the spiritual realm of evil and sin.

I also want to thank the “angel” my mom and I met at the thrift store on Monday. Thank you for stopping, noticing God’s appointment in having us meet, and for encouraging us and praying for us. What a blessing. We’ve been praying for you as well now –that the Lord continues to greatly bless your ministries of charity and street preaching.

And I want to thank that faithful friend who always reads my posts, often comments via email, and is ever-ready to lay aside her interests for others. And no, Girl, you need to be with your family today. God knows your heart of love, but just use it today to enjoy your family and minister to your in-laws. That’s a task in itself, right? (Ha, ha. Just kidding, everyone!)

Another person I’m thankful for: My friend in South Africa. I know God’s hand is on you. Rise daily to His expectation of you. For as I know you know, He is a good God –compassionate, powerful to deliver and comfort in time of need, and pleased to give His obedient ones the desires of their heart.

Oh, that all peoples would praise and thank the Lord! Yes, may we all lift our grateful adoration and praise to the One who is completely worthy. Amen!

Love to you all,
Rachel

Pink sky

Day dawning

Orange sky

