Help Clean Up The Mess

July 9, 2012

Friends,
I do still often go to church. It’s not like I don’t. It’s just that I see so much “stuff” there that is void of the Spirit of God.

Yesterday I went with a friend to her church because she’d been, for a while now, wanting me to visit. I didn’t want to go, but I felt the Lord wanted me to, not for myself really, but for her and others. So I went. As it happened, I found that the church is struggling to not die, and that the pastor is a hurting, discouraged man. My friend hadn’t told me anything about whatever is going on there, but the pastor eluded to them being slandered and mocked for their few numbers and told to close the church down.

I felt so bad as I sat there and heard the pastor’s crying heart. I wept, in fact, along with him. I do speak against the church in general, because no one, let alone anyone with the Spirit of God in-dwelling, can deny that the bride is a mess, a harlot, and an adulterer against her God. But that is how it is as a whole… how it is as a group… –because of the situation within the hearts and lives of the majority who help make up the whole. Most people in the church are not completely devoted to Christ at all, nor to obeying His commands. This is an obvious fact.

There is, of course, a remnant who have not bowed their knee to Baal. We know this, for God always reserves a few for Himself. But even the majority of this remnant, apparently finding themselves caught in the counterfeit system, don’t seem to know how to yank themselves out of it. Like maybe this pastor. Maybe he’s felt he’s needed to perform, to do things in the traditional way –even if it is no longer working.

But this is precisely why we all need to recognize the huge problem and together agree to change it. For it’s so hard to make a change (of any kind) on one’s own, especially if others are fighting us on it. There is certainly a gigantic problem with the way society “does church”. This is mainly due to the fact that it is rarely a time to “worship the Father in Spirit and Truth.” (John 4:23) And there is so much ridiculous clutter that fills up the time, there is little left for hearing the Word of God read, explained, and presented for application. And prayer? –There are maybe a few sentences sporadically given up to God, but what about fervent, Spirit-induced, battling prayers? Almost extinct, I’d say. And isn’t this because, even though Jesus angrily chased the money-changers out of the temple, saying “My house will be called a house of prayer…” (Matt. 21:12,13), few want to pray because it takes the most work with the least amount of recognition?

And fellowship? What fellowship? Are we supposed to think that afterwards talking about the next choir rehearsal, or the next potluck, or the next board meeting, or the next softball game, or latest movie that’s come out, or even the next outreach, is all supposed to be called “fellowship”? Ha. What a sad laugh! No, true fellowship amongst believers is to be speaking to one another, as led by the Spirit amongst us, words of edification and exhortation from God’s Word, as well as telling each other about what God has done, and is doing, for us. (Isa. 63:7 // Mal. 3:16 // Col. 3:16) Eph. 5:19,20 tell us that we are to be speaking to each other with psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs, and always giving God thanks for everything. As the context reveals, this is to be done throughout our daily lives, as we make the most of every opportunity. This would certainly mean, then –and even more so– that it should be done within the house of God!

Well, as some of the Lord’s servants have been warning and warning, this is a generation about to come under God’s total rejection and wrath. (Jer. 7:29) The judgement is already in full swing in God’s sanctuary (Ezek. 9:6,7) –that is, amongst the family of God. (1 Peter 4:17) And if even those who are semi-trying to obey the Gospel are being judged (same verse), what chance do those have who are not being obedient? (same verse) The answer is: None. (v. 18 // 2 Thes. 1:8,9)

Well, as the pastor of the little, hurting church finished up his sermon (which did have good points), I prayed, asking God what He would have me to do about it, for I was glad to hear that he was calling for several prayer meetings a week concerning their problem, and I was willing to involve myself however the Lord would lead. I thought I’d mention this to the pastor, but when the service ended, he just went in a back room –unavailable. Sigh. Even so, if the Lord leads me to go and pray with them, I will.

But, friends, the few can’t do it all, can we? There’s an enemy out there who wants people to perish. God wants the opposite and He has called His people to fight –to fight with spiritual weapons. But if no one is going to obey, and everyone is just going to lay in bed, or even join the wicked side, then what is God supposed to do? Pretend it’s all okay?

God is certainly not going to pretend it’s all okay. Because the indifference, the negativity, the sin, and the idolatry of His people have become to Him an utter stench.

Let’s agree to obey God and do something about this mess. And let’s begin by getting our own hearts cleaned up before God, meditating on His Word so that we can hear His Spirit’s voice there, and then getting on our knees and praying for everyone else.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

