God Tenderly Comforts His Lambs

October 24, 2011

Friends,
Sometimes the enemy comes in like a flood. Sometimes we grow weary, discouraged, and sad. Sometimes we feel frightened, frustrated, angry, lonely, or hopeless. Sometimes we feel that God has forgotten our plight, and that He is no longer near. Sweet communion with Him has faded, the noise of the world has risen to a deafening shriek, troubles plague our friends and family –relentlessly…

But… there’s God! He is always watching over us. He will always care. He will always rescue the one who cries out to Him for help. For “Zion said, ‘The LORD has forsaken me, the Lord has forgotten me.'” (Isa. 49:14) Yet God answers, “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has born? Though she may forget, I will not forget you!” (v. 15) God is saying that He cares tenderly for His children, and even when we’ve been overcome by fear or doubt or darkness, He will come quickly to our side when we call out to Him. “For I am the LORD, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.” (41:13) And “As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you.” (66:13) “See, I have engraved you on the palms of My hands; your walls are ever before Me.” (49:16)

Therefore, “Comfort, comfort My people, says your God. Speak tenderly to Jerusalem [all those who belong to the Lord], and proclaim to her that her hard service has been completed, that her sin has been paid for…” (Isa. 40:1,2) What “good tidings” (v. 9) this is! And for all who take the pardon, we become His cherished lambs, the flock of His fold who follow Him wherever He leads. (John 10:2-4) For “He tends His flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in His arms and carries them close to His heart; He gently leads those that have young.” (Isa. 40:11)

So, what do we do when we feel cast down? We put our hope in God. What do we do when we feel cast from His sight? We look again toward His holy temple (dwelling / presence). As Jonah prayed, “I have been banished from Your sight; yet I will look again toward Your holy temple… When my life was ebbing away, I remembered You, LORD, and my prayer rose to You, to your holy temple.” (2:4,7) And as the psalmist reminded himself, “Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise Him, my Savior and my God.” (Ps. 42:11)

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

