His Dwelling Of Splendor

April 8, 2011

Friends,
“You will be a crown of splendor in the LORD’s hand, a royal diadem in the hand of our God.” (Isa. 62:3) For whom is this promised? For Zion. When? When her righteousness shines out to the nations. (v. 1) And since we who are born from above of the Spirit (John 3:3-8) are those in whom God’s Spirit dwells, we are a type of Zion, “The Holy People, The Redeemed of the LORD.” (v. 12)

The question is, who of us who claim to be redeemed can say on a daily basis that we are indeed “a crown of splendor in the LORD’s hand”? Who of us can examine ourselves at any time during a given day and assert, “Yes, my heart, my thoughts, my words, and my conduct have so far lined up with the jewel God has made me to be for His glory.” –? Can we profess, “Yes, because the Spirit of the Lord is in me, I am indeed an oak of righteousness, a planting by the Lord for the display of His splendor.” –? (See Isa. 61:1a, 3c) For “He said to me, ‘You are My servant, Israel, in whom I will display My splendor.'” (49:3) As Jesus was, we too are anointed (1 John 2:27), we are God’s servants (Luke 17:10), we are to have God’s words in our mouth (Isa. 51:16 & Mark 13:11 & 1 Peter 4:11), and we are to walk just as Jesus did. (1 John 2:6)

“Awake, awake, O Zion, clothe yourself with strength. Put on your garments of splendor…” (Isa. 52:1) Who is our Strength and our Garment of Splendor? Jesus! Clothed in Him (Rom. 13:14) we shine strong and bold for His glory (Matt. 5:16), lighting up the world. (v. 14) For although “thick darkness is over the peoples, the LORD rises upon us and His glory appears over us.” (See Isa. 60:2) Therefore, “Nations will come to our light, and kings to the brightness of our dawn.” (see v. 3) Is this happening? Or are we sitting at home with bowls over our fading candles? (Matt. 5:15)

God has brought us righteousness through Christ. By doing so, He says, “I will grant salvation to Zion, My splendor to Israel.” (Isa. 46:13) Are we living up to this? “For the LORD has redeemed Jacob, He displays His glory in Israel.” (44:23) Absolutely, if we’ve been redeemed, we are expected to brilliantly (–faultless and pure) “shine like stars in the universe as we hold out the Word of Life in the midst of a crooked and depraved generation.” (See Phil. 2:15,16)

“Arise, shine, for your light has come.” (Isa. 60:1) “I will adorn My glorious temple.” (v. 7) “[I] will come to you… to adorn the place of My sanctuary; and I will glorify the place of My feet… and [they] will call you The City of the LORD, Zion of the Holy One of Israel… Then will all your people be righteous and they will possess the land forever. They are the shoot I have planted, the work of My hands, for the display of My splendor.” (v. 13,14,21)

Until Jesus sets up rule in the physical Zion when He returns bodily, we are for now His spiritual Zion, His spiritual kingdom (Luke 17:21 & John 18:36), His holy temple (Eph. 2:21) “being built together to become a dwelling in which God lives by His Spirit.” (v. 22)

May we truly, then, honor our King by sparkling in radiant purity, just as glorious as the Holy City which comes “down out of Heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband.” (Rev. 21:2)

“And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, ‘Now the dwelling of God is with men, and He will live with them. They will be His people, and God Himself will be with them and be their God.'” (Rev. 21:3) But is not God already our God? Are we not already His people? Is not His dwelling already within us? Then we are to shine, we are to sparkle, we are to light up the world… with Jesus –He who is our goodness, righteousness, and purity.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

